Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (30)

Narrator Rating (2)

How Democracies Die

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Daniel Ziblatt, Steven Levitsky

Narrated By: Fred Sanders

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: January 2018

Duration: 8 hours 25 minutes

Summary:

For readers of On Tyranny and Why Nations Fail, a bracing look at the demise of liberal democracies around the world--and a roadmap for rescuing our own

Donald Trump's presidency has raised a question that many of us never thought we'd be asking: Is our democracy in danger? Harvard professors Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt have spent two decades studying the breakdown of democracies in Europe and Latin America, and they believe the answer is yes. Democracy no longer ends with a bang--in a revolution or military coup--but with a whimper: the slow, steady weakening of critical institutions, such as the judiciary and the press, and the gradual erosion of longstanding political norms. The good news is that there are many exit ramps on the road to authoritarianism. The bad news is that, by electing Trump, we may have already passed the first one.
     Drawing on decades of research and a wide range of historical and global examples, from 1930s Europe to contemporary Hungary, Turkey, and Venezuela, Levitsky and Ziblatt show how democracies die--and how ours can be saved.

Genres:

  • David A

    The book actually had some great information in certain areas and serves as another opinion on the status of the USA political and governmental system in 2017. The author has every right to address the issues as he sees them but his doom and gloom about all things Trump and almost as much the Republican Party was over the top. The political and governmental system that our nation has become is not a one party issue. The author reinforces the notion that the only way to get along is for the progressive agenda to win. The author pointed out many negatives about the right but neglected to point out the same issues on the left. The division in our nation is widening and our future is fading without real solutions to our problems. It is worth a read but only to see the blindness of others

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Tim T.

    This book is an outstanding resource. I have listened to it completely three times through, and even bought the hard-copy in order to highlight its main talking points. It is well written, provides poignant and relevant examples of its key points as they occurred in American history, and relates them to current events and threats that have surfaced since the 2016 election. Hopefully, it is not too late...

  • Francesco C

    The book is of an intersting level of analysis but nothing particular

How Democracies Die

by Daniel Ziblatt, Steven Levitsky

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

How Democracies Die, Daniel Ziblatt, Steven Levitsky