How We Disappeared

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Jing-Jing Lee

Narrated By: Angela Lin, Ryun Yu

Publisher: Harlequin Audio

Date: May 2019

Duration: 11 hours 50 minutes

Summary:

*A Library Journal “Emerging Stars” Pick*

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Genres:

How We Disappeared

by Jing-Jing Lee

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee
How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee
This title is due for release on May 7, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee
This title is due for release on May 7, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.