Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (70)

Narrator Rating (13)

The Immortalists

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Chloe Benjamin

Narrated By: Maggie Hoffman

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Date: January 2018

Duration: 11 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“You won’t be able to put it down.”—The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)

“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Genres:

  • Shannon B.

    ¨Eh, it was okay,¨ is an accurate way to rate this book. I thought it was going to have an answer to a mystery in the end, but it fell flat. However, the narrator was superb!

  • Donna M

    I really enjoyed the story until the last sibling story-- by that time was I ready for it to end- many parts were brought together which was great..but you need to wait to get there!

Immortalists

by Chloe Benjamin

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Immortalists, Chloe Benjamin