Inner Sanctum Mystery, Collection 1

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
January 2018
6 hours 0 minutes
Taking its name from a popular series of mystery novels, Inner Sanctum Mystery debuted over NBC’s Blue Network in January 1941. Inner Sanctum Mystery featured one of the most memorable and atmospheric openings in radio history: an organist hit a dissonant chord, a doorknob turned and the famous “creaking door” slowly began to open. Every week, Inner Sanctum Mystery told stories of ghosts, murderers and lunatics. Produced in New York, the cast usually consisted of veteran radio actors, with occasional guest appearances by such Hollywood stars as Boris Karloff, Peter Lorre and Claude Rains. What made Inner Sanctum Mystery unique among radio horror shows was its host, a slightly sinister sounding fellow originally known as “Raymond.” The host had a droll sense of humor and an appetite for ghoulish puns, and his influence can be seen among horror hosts everywhere, from the Crypt-Keeper to Elvira. Raymond Edward Johnson was the show’s host until 1945; Paul McGrath took over as host until the show left the air in 1952. Producer Himan Brown would utilize the creaking door again in the 1970s, when he produced and directed The CBS Radio Mystery Theater. 4/24/45 Song of the Slasher
5/1/45 The Girl and the Gallows
5/22/45 Dead to Rights
5/29/45 Musical Score
6/12/45 Portrait of Death
6/19/45 Dead Man’s Holiday
9/18/45 Terror by Night
10/16/45 Till Death Do Us Part
2/12/46 The Man Who Couldn’t Die (aka Elixir Number Four)
1/15/46 The Edge of Death
7/5/48 Death Demon
4/4/49 Death Wears a Lonely Smile
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart