Jude Banks, Superhero

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Ann Hood

Narrated By: Christopher Gebauer

Date: May 2021

Duration: 5 hours 45 minutes

Summary:

New York Times best-selling author Ann Hood pens a poignant story of grief and resilience, perfect for readers of The Thing About Jellyfish.

'A testament to the power of human connection.” —Jack Cheng, award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos
 
 
Katie was Jude's favorite person in the world. And not many brothers say that about their sister and mean it. But to Jude, Katie was everything--the person who made him learn how to say 'I love you' in every language, who performed dramatic readings of Romeo and Juliet, who obsessed over every item on the diner menu looking for the most authentic diner meal. The one who called him 'Jude Banks, Superhero,' because to her, Jude was the best.

She was also the person who died. Out of nowhere, and without a goodbye. And Jude believes he was the one who killed her.

Now, twelve-year-old Jude must figure out what life looks like without his favorite person. With Mom checked out, and Dad just trying to do his best, Jude enters a world of grief youth groups and dropped-off lasagnas. It's only when he meets a girl named Clementine, who also lost a sibling, that he begins to imagine a world where maybe things might be okay. But Clementine is also feeling a terrible guilt, and even though Katie called Jude a 'superhero,' he isn't sure he can save her.

In her signature prose, Hood crafts an extraordinary story of grief and resilience, asking the important question: How does a family begin to heal?
 
Praise for Jude Banks, Superhero:
'Hood is brilliant at showing the ordinary moments of a family’s heartbreak… There are many readers who are navigating guilt and sorrow right now — for them, this book is a must. And for those lucky enough to take the journey only in their imaginations, this is a story of resilience in the face of devastating pain.”—New York Times Book Review   
 
'A tender story of grief and joy... a remarkable read.'—School Library Connection (Starred Review)
 
'Hood’s careful gardening of emotions makes this a striking read... Fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing about Jellyfish will appreciate Jude’s search for meaning and reason as he learns to live around the hole his sister has left.'—Booklist (Starred Review)
 
“Ann Hood tells Jude’s story of grief without coating it in too much sugar; it’s real, and therein lies its power. Jude Banks is a mirror for anyone who’s experienced loss, and a testament to the power of human connection.”—Jack Cheng, award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos
 
'Jude Banks is warm and inviting, even as it balances the difficult topics of loss and healing—a powerful and compelling story for anyone who has known loss.'—Rex Ogle, award winning author of Free Lunch

Genres:

Jude Banks, Superhero

by Ann Hood

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Jude Banks, Superhero, Ann Hood
Jude Banks, Superhero, Ann Hood
This title is due for release on May 18, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Jude Banks, Superhero, Ann Hood
This title is due for release on May 18, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Jude Banks, Superhero, Ann Hood
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Jude Banks, Superhero, Ann Hood

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.