Abridged Audiobook

Written By: Lawrence Durrell

Narrated By: Nigel Anthony

Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks

Date: April 1995

Duration: 3 hours 59 minutes


Justine is the first volume in The Alexandria Quartet, four interlinked novels set in the sensuous, hot environment of Alexandria just before the Second World War. Within this polyglot setting of richly idiosyncratic characters is Justine, wild and intense, wife to the wealthy business man Nessim, a mari complaisant. Her emotional and sexual wildness fuels a highly-charged atmosphere which, caught famously by Durrell's poetic language, made Justine (1957), and the three novels that complete the Quartet - Balthazar (1958), Mountolive (1958), and Clea (1960) both a critical and a popular success.



by Lawrence Durrell

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Justine, Lawrence Durrell