Kings of Broken Things

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Theodore Wheeler

Narrated By: Christopher Lane

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Date: August 2017

Duration: 10 hours 53 minutes

Summary:

With characters depicted in precise detail and wide panorama—a kept-woman’s parlor, a contentious interracial baseball game on the Fourth of July, and the tragic true events of the Omaha Race Riot of 1919—Kings of Broken Things reveals the folly of human nature in an era of astonishing ambition.

During the waning days of World War I, three lost souls find themselves adrift in Omaha, Nebraska, at a time of unprecedented nationalism, xenophobia, and political corruption. Adolescent European refugee Karel Miihlstein’s life is transformed after neighborhood boys discover his prodigious natural talent for baseball. Jake Strauss, a young man with a violent past and desperate for a second chance, is drawn into a criminal underworld. Evie Chambers, a kept woman, is trying to make ends meet and looking every which way to escape her cheerless existence.

As wounded soldiers return from the front and black migrant workers move north in search of economic opportunity, the immigrant wards of Omaha become a tinderbox of racial resentment stoked by unscrupulous politicians. Punctuated by an unspeakable act of mob violence, the fates of Karel, Jake, and Evie will become inexorably entangled with the schemes of a ruthless political boss whose will to power knows no bounds.

Written in the tradition of Don DeLillo and Colum McCann, with a great debt to Ralph Ellison, Theodore Wheeler’s debut novel Kings of Broken Things is a panoramic view of a city on the brink of implosion during the course of this summer of strife.

Genres:

Kings of Broken Things

by Theodore Wheeler

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Kings of Broken Things, Theodore Wheeler
Kings of Broken Things, Theodore Wheeler
This title is due for release on August 1, 2017.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Kings of Broken Things, Theodore Wheeler
This title is due for release on August 1, 2017
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Kings of Broken Things, Theodore Wheeler
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Kings of Broken Things, Theodore Wheeler

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.