Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (18)

Narrator Rating (6)

The Last Ship: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: William Brinkley

Narrated By: Christopher Lane

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: December 2014

Duration: 29 hours 58 minutes

Summary:

Hailed “an extraordinary novel of men at war” (Washington Post), The Last Ship is the book that inspired the TNT miniseries starring Eric Dane, Rhona Mitra, and Adam Baldwin, with Michael Bay as executive producer.

The unimaginable has happened: the world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the USS Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain—152 men and 26 women—to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are the earth’s last remaining survivors—and they’ve all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind?

This thrilling tale of postapocalyptic suspense is perfect for readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

“Nevil Shute wrote a moving book, On the Beach, about the aftermath of a nuclear war…Now William Brinkley has used the same premise to tell and even more fascinating tale.”—Wall Street Journal

Genres:

  • Woodie H.

    It took 8 hours to get to the point where you were clued it to what happen . After telling us the serial number on each piece of equipment on the ship for hours. He takes about 5 minutes to say the world ended. I never finished the book way to long and drawn out. If this is an accurate description of what a ships captain is they are the most arrogant person you are likely to ever have the displeasure of meeting. Stick with the tv show 1000% better than this book. Thanks

  • Bill P.

    very slow. not enough action, just the captain thoughts. if i could get my credit back to lessen to another book i would. i give it the benefit of the doubt. i give it a 1 on rating. a 3 or 4 on the narrator.

  • Magz M.

    I tried. I really tried to finish this book, but unless the author had a bet with someone that he could use up every word in the Oxford English Dictionary, twice, there was no need for the indulgent, rambling verbosity that filled chapter after chapter. It ruined what could have been a thought provoking and interesting storyline. On the plus side, this audio book is a great alternative to medicinal sleep aids.

  • OCTAVIOUS D

    I didn’t really like the story line.

  • Stephen F

    I think there's a good story in this book somewhere, but it got lost in all the ramblings. Really, could you talk about goats just a little longer......... It was hard to listen to this book, I kept losing track while my mind wondered. Disappointed.