Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (19)

Narrator Rating (5)

The Lazarus War: Artefact

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Jamie Sawyer

Narrated By: Jeff Harding

Publisher: Hachette Book Group USA

Date: February 2016

Duration: 14 hours 57 minutes

Summary:

Artefact is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels calls it "a gripping read that moves at warp speed."

Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war.

Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times - running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death. So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.

But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time, he may not be coming back . . .

Artefact is an action-drenched tale of elite space marines, deep space exploration and galactic empires. Discover The Lazarus War - the thrilling new space opera series from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.

Genres:

  • Michael O

    This is not a good book, and not even remotely comparable to the Expanse. The characters are mostly flat and the plot fairly predictable. The writing is pretty uninteresting. The worst part however, is the narrator. Harding has a pleasant enough voice and does a decent job with the main narration -- a first-person account. However, he seems to be unable to resist trying to do specific voices for other characters in the book, and this is where things fall apart, and the narration becomes in object lesson in how *not* to voice an audio book. His attempts at female voices are either "coquettish french girl" or mincing, whiny Midwestern mom. One Hispanic character is essentially voiced as Speedy Gonzales, and the guy from Brooklyn? FUGHETABOUDIT! This is truly cartoon and distracting stuff. If you want well-narrated military sci fi, give The Expanse a try. I'd avoid this, however.

  • Greg Jackson

    Great story, love the action!