Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (54)

Narrator Rating (15)

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Jenny Lawson

Narrated By: Jenny Lawson

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Date: April 2012

Duration: 8 hours 43 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives-the ones we’d like to pretend never happened-are in fact the ones that define us. In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel" "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband" "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking" "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane." Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Genres:

  • Mary K

    I love this book and it reminds me of some of the crazy stuff my sister and I did growing up in the south.

  • Laura Berg

    Love this book! I laugh constantly and relive my own small town in the South growing up experience.

  • Beth Carroll

    Would love to read this. I can't listen. Her voice is irritating

  • Alonzo Kescoli

    Jenny Lawson is hilarious. I had to get use to people staring at me on the street because of how big my smile was, or that I was chuckling to myself. I live in Hollywood, so it wasn't too out of the ordinary. Excited for Furiously Happy.

  • Liza

    Jenny Lawson is really funny, and awesome. Funnier than Tina Fey in Bossypants, definitely funnier than any of Jen Lancaster's books. She is funny and she is going to make you laugh out loud. She's also pretty crazy, but in the good way. I was finding out that I am not the kind of a person that loves this type of books, because they start nicely and witty and funny and then become boring and dry (and I-am-so-full-of-myself and I-have-so-many-awesome-famous-people-that-I-know). This is one is passing with flying colors, it is funny at the beginning, the middle and the end (and mostly does not include boring parts). And it is also different than the rest of the funny-memoir genre, because Lawson has extremely interesting and strange view of life and a serial-killer sense of humor :) Not a must read, but will make you laugh, almost full 4 stars. And (hard to believe) better than Amy Poehler in Yes Please.

  • fay sampson

    This was a book club read and I was not at all excited about it BUT I was wrong....this book is hilarious and I totally plan on reading her follow up book.

  • Stacy Strong

    I read this as opposed to listening to the audio book. I laughed so hard at one point during a plane ride that I was asked to be quiet. Hilarious if you are a follower of @TheBloggess

  • James Worley

    A hilarious book read by the author. A must listen!