The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Michael Cannell

Narrated By: Fred Stella

Publisher: HighBridge Company

Date: November 2011

Duration: 8 hours 20 minutes

Summary:

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell's high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.

Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Genres:

  • GAIL C.

    The top spot at the end of the season. Has it changed that much from 1961 to now ?

Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

by Michael Cannell

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit, Michael Cannell