The Lives of the Queens of England Volume 1

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Agnes Strickland

Narrated By: Ann Boulais

Publisher: LibriVox

Date: January 2016

Duration: 9 hours 50 minutes


The Lives of the Queens of England is a multi-volumed work attributed to Agnes Strickland, though it was mostly researched and written by her sister Elisabeth. These volumes give biographies of the queens of England from the Norman Conquest in 1066. Although by today's standards, it is not seen as a very scholarly work, the Stricklands used many sources that had not been used before.

Volume one includes the biographies of Matilda of Flanders, Matilda of Scotland, Adelicia of Louvaine, Matilda of Boulogne and Eleanora of Aquitaine.

(Introduction by Ann Boulais)



    The quality of the audiobook narration is horrendous. I couldn't listen to this audiobook her voice was so irritating and high pitched. Soeaks too fast as well!