Martin Chuzzlewit

Written by:
Charles Dickens
Narrated by:
Frederick Davidson

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
May 2008
35 hours 36 minutes
Wealthy and old, Martin Chuzzlewit Sr. is surrounded by greedy relatives hoping to obtain a portion of his estate upon his death. His two descendants, Martin Jr. and Jonas, have been born and bred in the same heritage of selfishness, the Chuzzlewit tradition.

Set partly in America, of which Dickens offers a searing satire, this novel follows and contrasts the opposing fates of Martin and Jonas. While one achieves worldly success and, eventually, moral redemption, the other sinks deeper into the darkness—and pays the ultimate price.

This powerful black comedy is a tale of hypocrisy, greed, and blackmail, and it introduces the most famous of Dickens' grotesques: Mrs. Gamp.
Profile Avatar
Judith B.

It’s long, and I listen in the car, so it’s taken weeks, since I retired at the end of November and I’m just finishing it now, at the end of January. It’s a Dickens I had never read, and it’s a bit scattered. It takes ages to come into focus. But I have enjoyed it. I love his heart for humanity, I cared about the characters, I felt the horror of the murderer as he realizes he will never be free of his guilt, and I found his descriptions of the Ynuted States in the 1840’s incredibly illuminating. You see the roots of trumpism so clearly. The narrator does a brilliant job with accents and voices.

Martin Chuzzlewit
This title is due for release on May 1, 2008.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Martin Chuzzlewit
This title is due for release on May 1, 2008
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Martin Chuzzlewit
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Martin Chuzzlewit

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
View Cart