Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (15)

Narrator Rating (4)

Medicine Walk

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Richard Wagamese

Narrated By: Tom Stechschulte

Publisher: Recorded Books

Date: May 2015

Duration: 8 hours 3 minutes

Summary:

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected. A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.

Genres:

Medicine Walk

by Richard Wagamese

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese
Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese
This title is due for release on May 12, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese
This title is due for release on May 12, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.