Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Susan Elia MacNeal

Narrated By: Donada Peters

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: April 2012

Duration: 9 hours 46 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

Genres:

  • Cynthia D

    Normally I love books that are set during WWII that have a good plot. That was the problem with this book, the plot stunk. It didn't transport me back in time. Perhaps it was written for a younger audience.

  • Michelle Fekete

    Great story, but narrator has denture and you can hear her smacking it around in her mouth as she forms words.

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery

by Susan Elia MacNeal

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Susan Elia MacNeal
Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Susan Elia MacNeal
This title is due for release on April 3, 2012.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Susan Elia MacNeal
This title is due for release on April 3, 2012
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Susan Elia MacNeal
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Susan Elia MacNeal

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.