Noah's Wife

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Lindsay Starck

Narrated By: Kirsten Potter

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: January 2016

Duration: 9 hours 42 minutes

Summary:

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace's Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey's The Snow Child comes a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah's Ark for our modern times.

When young minister Noah and his dutiful wife arrive at their new post in the hills, they find a gray and wet little town where it's been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Noah's wife is determined to help her husband revive this soggy congregation, but she soon finds her efforts thwarted by her eccentric new neighbors, among them an idiom-wielding Italian hardware store owner, a towering town matriarch, and a lovelorn zookeeper determined to stand by his charges. Overwhelmed, Noah's wife fails to realize that Noah too is battling his own internal crisis.

Soon the river waters rise, flooding the streets of the town and driving scores of wild animals out of the once-renowned zoo. As the water swallows up the houses, the telephone poles, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and the townspeople must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another.

Full of whimsy and gentle ironic humor, Noah's Wife is a wise and poignant novel that draws upon the motifs of the biblical flood story to explore the true meaning of community, to examine the remarkable strength of the human spirit, and to ask whether hope can exist even where faith has been lost.

"A riveting fable...Starck's strength is in her characters...compelling, often hilarious individuals, each of whom will remain with you long after you turn the last page."-Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author

Genres:

  • Nancy Krehlik

    This book is a modern take on the Noah story. As with many modern tellings of a tale there are some unexpected twists. The characters were likeable . The narrator was good. The rain was constant. A good rainy day read.