On The Slow Train: Twelve Great British Railway Journeys

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Michael Williams

Narrated By: Michael Tudor Barnes

Publisher: Random House UK

Date: November 2010

Duration: 7 hours 30 minutes


Never was the sadness of the end of an affair so poignantly expressed than in Flanders and Swann's elegy The Slow Train:
This beautifully-packaged book will take the reader on the slow train to another era when travel meant more than hurrying from one place to the next, the journey meaning nothing but time lost in crowded carriages, condemned by broken timetables. On the Slow Train will reconnect with that long-missed need to lift our heads from the daily grind and reflect that there are still places in Britain where we can stop and stare. It will tap into many things: a love of railways, a love of history, a love of nostalgia.
This book will be a paean to another age before milk churns, porters and cats on seats were replaced by security announcements and Burger King. These 12 spectacular journeys will help free us from what Baudelaire denounced as 'the horrible burden of time.'


On The Slow Train: Twelve Great British Railway Journeys

by Michael Williams

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

On The Slow Train: Twelve Great British Railway Journeys, Michael Williams