Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (119)

Narrator Rating (40)

One Second After

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: William R. Forstchen

Narrated By: Joe Barrett

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: July 2009

Duration: 13 hours 19 minutes

Summary:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon'the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)'which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

'The characters' powers of ingenuity are challenged to the limit as they realize just how fragile the barrier between civilization and barbarism is. Joe Barrett's baritone is steady and sometimes a bit gravelly, and his serious tone suits these events well.''AudioFile

Genres:

  • Sharon Gilbert

    The premise of book was fascinating yet terrifying . The narration was so realistic that you were completely drawn to the characters and action. A must read!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    Great book

  • Parrish V.

    This is what I would call a true "horror" story. With there being such a real possibility in our world of this actually happenibg.... It really gets you thinking, "What If?" Are you ready? Will you be ready? The only think in this book that lacked for me was the narrator made most of the characters sound old. Other than that, great narrator and very well written. starting book #2 One Year After.

  • Kyle H.

    Very scary concept, and believable events. I too believe an emp would render America back to the stone age.

  • John B

    Good read /listen. The very real premese is why I still own a 1964 Scout 4x4, unaffected by EMP. :)

  • Steve Adwell

    Ironically as I was reading this book my power at my house went out two times. One day the first time and it's three days so far sill no power. I enjoyed the book the way the story is laid out. Narration was very good. But the big picture is the thought of an EMP attack on our country. I would hope our government would never allow this to happen.

  • Stev Wills

    Better than I thought it would be. A good read/listen.

  • Chris Gamble

    An enjoyable and thought provoking read. I am about to start the sequel!

  • Kerrianne Wilson

    This book was fantastic - suspenseful, heartbreaking, and particularly frightening. It's scary to think how dependent we are on electronics/technology; as much we like to think that humans are of superior intelligence and are indestructable, we have inadvertently made ourselves an incredibly fragile species as a whole. I found myself looking forward to my drive home so that I could listen to it. The narration was pretty good, though I thought his female impressions were a little cheesy. I would (and already have to friends) 100% recommend this book.

  • paul didonato

    Great book! Makes you think. Scary and thought provoking