Written By: William R. Forstchen

Narrated By: Joe Barrett

Date: July 2009

Duration: 13 hours 18 minutes

Summary:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.
Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.
In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

Genres:

  • Sharon Gilbert

    The premise of book was fascinating yet terrifying . The narration was so realistic that you were completely drawn to the characters and action. A must read!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    Great book

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Kyle H.

    Very scary concept, and believable events. I too believe an emp would render America back to the stone age.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • John B

    Good read /listen. The very real premese is why I still own a 1964 Scout 4x4, unaffected by EMP. :)

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Stev Wills

    Better than I thought it would be. A good read/listen.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Chris Gamble

    An enjoyable and thought provoking read. I am about to start the sequel!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • paul didonato

    Great book! Makes you think. Scary and thought provoking

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • hayley french

    an extremely well thought out book that looks at the realities of an EMP attack. very thought provoking

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Terry Sandusky

    One of the best reads I've had all year!???????? very provocative . Once started couldn't stop!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Nitwit

    Great book. The author knows how to keep you interested and the narrator really delivers. Throughout the book I found myself wondering how I would do in such a dire situation.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Billy G.

    a MUST read !!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    I love the way this book makes you think about how to prepare. A good read for anyone.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Aaron W.

    Very good book. Depressing but good.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Travis B.

    Enjoyable and interesting read. Made my long road trip feel shorter!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Parrish V.

    This is what I would call a true "horror" story. With there being such a real possibility in our world of this actually happenibg.... It really gets you thinking, "What If?" Are you ready? Will you be ready? The only think in this book that lacked for me was the narrator made most of the characters sound old. Other than that, great narrator and very well written. starting book #2 One Year After.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Steve Adwell

    Ironically as I was reading this book my power at my house went out two times. One day the first time and it's three days so far sill no power. I enjoyed the book the way the story is laid out. Narration was very good. But the big picture is the thought of an EMP attack on our country. I would hope our government would never allow this to happen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Kerrianne Wilson

    This book was fantastic - suspenseful, heartbreaking, and particularly frightening. It's scary to think how dependent we are on electronics/technology; as much we like to think that humans are of superior intelligence and are indestructable, we have inadvertently made ourselves an incredibly fragile species as a whole. I found myself looking forward to my drive home so that I could listen to it. The narration was pretty good, though I thought his female impressions were a little cheesy. I would (and already have to friends) 100% recommend this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Alan Wilson

    Riveting. Wish there were more in this series. Felt like I was in the story!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Jim Phillips

    Great book, thought provoking insight on an EMP event

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • david browne

    This book was to be for my commute, but found myself listening at home also. just couldn't stop listening.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Bruce Ewald

    Excellent. This book is very thought provoking and well written.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Amber Sheridan

    Amazing book! The reader was perfect! I stayed on the edge of my seat and it was such a struggle to keep this book only for car rides

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Christine Hull

    Disturbing, but dead on! Makes the reader pause and ponder/worry about our future on each page.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Dorie Rogers

    Excellent book should be required reading for all!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Alberto A.

    Way too much dialogue, not very descriptive, and the way action scenes are told in past tense kill the moment-don’t jump forward after the good action stuff and come back describing it-totally kills the mood and ‘flow’ albeit stagnant to begin with. Mediocre at best and not worth the time with hundreds of other great books in this genre available.

  • Lexi Wier

    This book is a must read for anyone. Really gives a true picture of what American life could become after an EMP attack.

  • Mark P.

    Enjoyed this frightening book.

  • Brad D.

    Extremely well done and thought provoking. Also extremely depressing and hopeless.

  • Robin W.

    This book so frightened me that it prompted me to lay in about 20 lbs of dried beans. I also keep a close eye on my battery supply. It brings home the horrors of war.

  • Alyssa K.

    Great book, gives you a lot too think about

  • Anonymous

    Very humbling.

  • Juan S.

    unlike Tom Clancy he deals with ev eryday people, facing a crisis but pulling together all their talents and knowledge together. In a world where knowledge is power and wisdom give life

  • Ellijah Campbell

    I was kept entertained, there some really good parts but the ending was just Terrible.

  • Ginger Velasco

    Interesting exploration of an emp's potential effects on American society. Ok plot, ok narrator.

One Second After

by William R. Forstchen

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

One Second After, William R. Forstchen
One Second After, William R. Forstchen
This title is due for release on July 30, 2009.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
One Second After, William R. Forstchen
This title is due for release on July 30, 2009
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
One Second After, William R. Forstchen
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
One Second After, William R. Forstchen

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.