The Orphan of Salt Winds

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Elizabeth Brooks

Narrated By: Helen Lloyd

Date: January 2019

Duration: 8 hours 0 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Eowyn Ivey, Rose Tremaine, and Kate Atkinson, The Orphan of Salt Winds is a bewitching debut about the secrets that haunt us.
England, 1939. Ten-year-old Virginia Wrathmell arrives at Salt Winds, a secluded house on the edge of a marsh, to meet her adoptive parents―practical, dependable Clem and glamorous, mercurial Lorna. The marsh, with its deceptive tides, is a beautiful but threatening place. Virginia’s new parents’ marriage is full of secrets and tensions she doesn’t quite understand, and their wealthy neighbor, Max Deering, drops by too often, taking an unwholesome interest in the family’s affairs. Only Clem offers a true sense of home. War feels far away among the birds and shifting sands―until the day a German fighter plane crashes into the marsh, and Clem ventures out to rescue the airman. What happens next sets into motion a crime so devastating it will haunt Virginia for the rest of her life. Seventy-five years later, she finds herself drawn back to the marsh, and to a teenage girl who appears there, nearly frozen and burdened by her own secrets. In her, Virginia might have a chance at retribution and a way to right a grave mistake she made as a child.
Elizabeth Brooks’s gripping debut mirrors its marshy landscape―full of twists and turns and moored in a tangle of family secrets. A gothic, psychological mystery and atmospheric coming-of-age story, The Orphan of Salt Winds is the portrait of a woman haunted by the place she calls home.

Genres:

  • Jean P.

    Excellent character development and a vivid description of the setting. Sometimes the plot was unrealistic but all was forgiven as you were so invested in the characters. Creepiest villain ever!!!

  • Susan R.

    The story was intriguing but really lagged towards the end.

Orphan of Salt Winds

by Elizabeth Brooks

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Orphan of Salt Winds, Elizabeth Brooks
Orphan of Salt Winds, Elizabeth Brooks
This title is due for release on January 15, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Orphan of Salt Winds, Elizabeth Brooks
This title is due for release on January 15, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Orphan of Salt Winds, Elizabeth Brooks
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Orphan of Salt Winds, Elizabeth Brooks

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.