12 Days of Deals promo banner

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (476)

Narrator Rating (15)

Oryx and Crake

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Margaret Atwood

Narrated By: Campbell Scott

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: May 2003

Duration: 10 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.


From the Hardcover edition.

Genres:

  • Elise S.

    I liked this book a lot. It’s classic Margaret Atwood, so if you like her other dystopian books, you’ll like this one too. I could have done without the kiddie porn. Oryx could have had a different back-story that was just as plausible. I liked the ending a lot, although I saw that other reviewers thought it was a cop-out. Ending the story with a big question mark about what will happen next gives the reader an opportunity to write their own ending.

  • JHP

    Margaret Atwood can really tell a story and she can create a very credible guy protagonist.

  • Natasha H

    I Loved this book! The narrative slowly unfolded and i couldn't stop listening! I love Atwood's dystopian future settings, and the way she incorporates science into her fiction without being completely over the top.

  • Jason C

    This is a Frightening but realistic view of where our world is heading, and should serve as a warning.

  • Amy Aro

    I think the idea of this trilogy was so creative, but poorly executed. The first book is about jimmy, then he barely makes an appearance in book 2 or 3.

  • Leah Beall

    This book is fairly long, but it has many elements I enjoy. It is a dystopian novel with elements of child abuse and neglect, terrible parental figures, an unreliable protagonist who is absolutely miserable, interesting female characters, and a devious anti-hero. It has sci-fi elements all throughout, including computerized components, hacking, genetically altered people and creatures, voluntary body modifications, and secret altering elements in the drugs. There are conspiracies and clones. I loved this book. If you are sensitive to graphic language--mostly sexual, including rape and child-pornography moment--and terrible events involving mass genocide of a species, you won't like it, but it is excellent. I cannot wait to read the others!

  • Anonymous

    Wry, intelligent, unsentimental writing,,,good narrator...interesting characters...depressing (at times distasteful) apocalyptic subject matter.

  • SOPSYCHOBILLY

    I CAN'T GIVE IT LESS THAN 3 STARS CUZ I REALLY DIDN'T GIVE IT A CHANCE. I STOPPED LISTENING PRETTY EARLY IN THE BOOK BECAUSE THE WRITING STYLE WAS MAKING ME CRAZY. WRITING IN THE PRESENT TENSE IS VERY "JR HIGH" AND I COULDN'T GET PAST IT.

  • Emerald

    Oryx and Crake is an outstanding futuristic novel - with well-developed characters and a frightening scenario which involves genetic manipulation gone bad. Protagonist Jimmie, aka Snowman, moves the story along and links us to the misguided genius of Crake, the anti-hero. The female lead is equally mesmerizing. This is one story you won't want to turn off, and the final chapters constitute a very scary ride.

  • Andrea

    I really enjoyed the incredible imagination and suspense in this dark tale. I enjoy books by Dean Koontz and this reminded me of the plots of his books, but Atwood's writing style is much superior and with beautiful descriptive passages. I was very disappointed with the ending as Snowman's difficulties were not resolved in any way. I am hoping for a sequel! I did not like when the narrator used his whisper voice for the dialogue. It did not fit the story.

Oryx and Crake

by Margaret Atwood

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood