Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Gyles Brandreth

Narrated By: Bill Wallis

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: November 2011

Duration: 10 hours 25 minutes

Summary:

London, 1889. Oscar Wilde, celebrated poet, wit, playwright, and raconteur is the literary sensation of his age. All Europe lies at his feet. Yet when he chances across the naked corpse of sixteen-year-old Billy Wood, posed by candlelight in a dark stifling attic room, he cannot ignore the brutal murder. With the help of fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle he sets out to solve the crime—but it is Wilde’s unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian life, from society drawing rooms to the underclass, that will prove the decisive factor in the investigation of what turns out to be a series of brutal killings. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance is a classic murder mystery in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Arthur Conan Doyle.

“A first-class stunner…[A] wow of a history-mystery…Fascinating.”--Booklist (starred review)

Genres: