Our Island Story, Volume 3,Volume 4

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall

Narrated By: David Thorn

Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks

Date: January 2005

Duration: 4 hours 22 minutes


Volumes Three and Four of a five part series telling The Story of Great Britain from its earliest beginnings to World War I. Our Island Story, originally published in 1905 and later updated, details the history of Britain up to World War I (including some myths and legends associated with British history). Author H. E. Marshall based the book on her answers to her children's questions about the history of their ""home island"" (Great Britain).

Volume 3 - The next 250 years from Henry VIII(1509 A.D.) to George II (d. 1759 A.D.)
1. Henry VIII - The Story of the Field of The Cloth of Gold
2. Henry VIII - How the King became the Defender of the Faith and How The Great Cardinal Died
3. Henry VIII - The Story of the King's Six Wives
4. Edward VI - The Story of the Boy King
5. The Story of Lady Jane Grey
6. Mary I - How the Princess Elizabeth became a Prisoner
7. Mary I - How a Candle was Lit in England which Has Never Been Put Out
8. Elizabeth - How the Imprisoned Princess Became Queen
9. Elizabeth - The Story of a Most Unhappy Queen
10. Elizabeth - The Story of How England was Saved from the Spaniards
11. Elizabeth - The Story of Sir Walter Raleigh
12. Elizabeth - The Story of the Queen's Favorite
13. James the VI of Scotland, Ist of England The Story of Guy Fawkes
14. James VI of Scotland, Ist of England - The Story of the Mayflower
15. Charles I How a Woman Struck a Blow for Freedom
16. Charles I - The Story of How the King and the Parliament Quarreled and at last Fought
17. Charles I - The Story of How the King was Brought to his Death
18. The Commonwealth - The Adventures of a Prince
19. The Commonwealth - The Lord Protector
20. Charles II - How the King Came to his Own, and How Death Walked in the Streets of London
21. Charles II - The Story of How London was Burned
22. James II of England, VII th of Scotland-The Fiery Cross
23. James II of England, VII th of Scotland-The Story of Monmouth
24. James II of England, VII th of Scotland - The Story of the Seven Bishops
25. James II of England, VII th of Scotland-William the Deliverer
26. William III and Mary II-The Story of Brave Londonderry
27. William III and Mary II - The Story of a Sad Day in a Highland Glen
28. Anne - How the Union Jack was Made
29. George I - The Story of the Earl of Mar's Hunting Party
30. George II - The Story of Bonnie Prince Charlie
31. George II - The Story of Flora MacDonald
32. George II - The Story of the Black Hole of Calcutta
33. George II - The Story of How Canada was Won
Volume 4 - The loss of the American Colonies and the beginning of the industrial revolution
1. George III - The Story of How America was Lost
2. George III - The Story of the Spinning Wheel

Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall (1867 - 1941) was a British author, most famous for her works of history for children.

For decades, Marshall's books were ubiquitous in schools and home libraries. Much of the popularity of her works stems from her talent for making history read like good storytelling.

Reviews for Alcazar AudioWorks' production of Our Island Story, Volume 3 & Volume 4
We've enjoyed listening to Our Island Story (an unabridged audiobook), H.E. Marshall's work detailing the history of Great Britain. Alcazar Audioworks has recorded this book using two readers who alternate throughout, David Thorn with his rich British accent and Bobbie Frohman with such warm tones. The whole book is divided into volumes, sold separately, which allows you to purchase just that part of history you are currently studying.

H.E. Marshall was a gifted storyteller who selected familiar (and I admit, not so familiar) anecdotes to weave these stories centered around famous figures in British history. This is history as our children learn best: Rather than dry and dusty facts and dates to memorize by rote, we have stories of real people, vividly told.

The CD set Our Island Story, Volumes 3 and 4 covers chapters 62 through 96 of the book, from Henry VIII (about 1509 A.D.) to George III and the American Revolution. There are many familiar stories here, such as those of the six wives of Henry VIII, Lady Jane Grey, Queen Elizabeth and Sir Walter Raleigh, Guy Fawkes, Cromwell, and Bonnie Prince Charlie, just to name a few. You'll find the sailing of the Mayflower, the great London Plague, and the London Fire. There are battles and intrigues, gallant knights and craven villains. There are deeds of generosity, examples of cruelty, brave adventures, and terrible tragedy - because of the latter, we've had to be selective in our listening, making sure our sensitive youngest was prepared beforehand for upsetting material.

If you happen to be using Ambleside Online, you'll want to know that Our Island Story, Volumes 3 and 4 would be used during Years 3 and 4 of Ambleside's reading schedule.
Reviewed By: Jean Hall - EHO Eclectic Homeschool Online


Our Island Story, Volume 3,Volume 4

by Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Our Island Story, Volume 3,Volume 4, Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall