Paperboy

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Vince Vawter

Narrated By: Lincoln Hoppe, Vince Vawter

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: September 2013

Duration: 6 hours 11 minutes

Summary:

*'Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird.' - Booklist, Starred

'An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!' - ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The Kings Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering - not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friends paper route for the month of July, hes not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But its the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Mans life.

A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Childrens Book
An IRA Childrens and Young Adults Choice
An IRA Teachers Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Childrens Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
An ALA-ALSC Notable Childrens Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection

"[Vawters] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldnt talk right." - The Washington Post

"Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." - Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America

*"[A] tense, memorable story." - Publishers Weekly, Starred

"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." - Kirkus Reviews

"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." - School Library Journal

Genres: