Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, Part II - 1963-64

Written by:
Taylor Branch
Narrated by:
CCH Pounder , Joe Morton

Abridged Audiobook

Release Date
February 1998
7 hours 0 minutes
From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch, the second part of his epic trilogy on Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement.

In the second volume of his three-part history, a monumental trilogy that began with Parting the Waters, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award, Taylor Branch portrays the Civil Rights Movement at its zenith, recounting the climactic struggles as they commanded the national stage.

Beginning with the Nation of Islam and conflict over racial separatism, Pillar of Fire takes the reader to Mississippi and Alabama: Birmingham, the murder of Medgar Evers, the 'March on Washington,' the Civil Rights Act, and voter registration drives. In 1964, King is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Branch's magnificent trilogy makes clear why the Civil Rights Movement, and indeed King's leadership, are among the nation's enduring achievements. In bringing these decades alive, preserving the integrity of those who marched and died, Branch gives us a crucial part of our history and heritage.
Profile Avatar
Gordon S.

Branch's history of the civil rights movement has stood the test of time. The abridgement did not diminish the power of the book. The two narrators is a a nice touch and kept the narration lively.

1 book added to cart
View Cart