Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (15)

Narrator Rating (2)

The Poppy War: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: R. F. Kuang

Narrated By: Emily Woo Zeller

Publisher: HarperAudio

Date: May 2018

Duration: 18 hours 58 minutes

Summary:

An AudioFile Magazine Best Audiobook of 2018!
A Library Journal, Paste Magazine, and ENTROPY Best Books of 2018 pick!
Washington Post '5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel of 2018' pick!
A Bustle '30 Best Fiction Books of 2018' pick!
"I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang's] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin." -- Booknest
A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China's twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu's Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin's Inheritance Trilogy.
When Rin aced the Keju-the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies-it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn't believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin's guardians, who believed they'd finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard-the most elite military school in Nikan-was even more surprising.
But surprises aren't always good.
Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power-an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive-and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.
For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .
Rin's shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Genres:

  • Pauline H.

    The book started out okay and got better. Then midway I felt like I was reading whole different book. I don’t think I can finish it with five hours left. Don’t know what direction the book is going almost feels like I’m lost in a fog.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poppy War: A Novel

by R. F. Kuang

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Poppy War: A Novel, R. F. Kuang
Poppy War: A Novel, R. F. Kuang
This title is due for release on May 1, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Poppy War: A Novel, R. F. Kuang
This title is due for release on May 1, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Poppy War: A Novel, R. F. Kuang
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Poppy War: A Novel, R. F. Kuang

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.