Quicksand

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Steve Toltz

Narrated By: Joel Davey

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Date: September 2015

Duration: 16 hours 32 minutes

Summary:

This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is “a delightful literary novel…extraordinarily imaginative” (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz—for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace.

Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo’s luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend’s exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo’s mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.

“Steve Toltz channels a poet’s delight in crafting the perfect phrase on every highly quotable page” (Publishers Weekly). With the same originality, brilliance, and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world, Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about love, faith, friendship, and the artist’s obligation to his muse. Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity that “confounds and astonishes in equal measure, often on the same page…A tour de force” (Australian Book Review).

Genres:

  • Sandra Mauws

    This was the strangest book I listened to. Most of it made no senses, towards the end I grew to dislike the character due to his self absorbed self pity ,his destructive behavior caused so much damage to others

  • corinne weiss

    Terribly boring.............,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,;;,;;;;;;

Quicksand

by Steve Toltz

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Quicksand, Steve Toltz
Quicksand, Steve Toltz
This title is due for release on September 15, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Quicksand, Steve Toltz
This title is due for release on September 15, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Quicksand, Steve Toltz
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Quicksand, Steve Toltz

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.