Quicksand

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Steve Toltz

Narrated By: Joel Davey

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date: September 2015

Duration: 16 hours 32 minutes

Summary:

A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace: a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship. With the same originality and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world-including shortlists for the Man Booker Prize and the Guardian First Book Award-Steve Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about fate, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Sharp, witty, kinetic, and utterly engrossing, Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity.

Genres:

  • Sandra Mauws

    This was the strangest book I listened to. Most of it made no senses, towards the end I grew to dislike the character due to his self absorbed self pity ,his destructive behavior caused so much damage to others

  • corinne weiss

    Terribly boring.............,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,;;,;;;;;;