The Quiet World: Saving Alaska's Wilderness Kingdom, 1910-1960

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Douglas Brinkley

Narrated By: Andrew Garman

Publisher: HarperAudio

Date: January 2011

Duration: 23 hours 7 minutes


In this fascinating follow-up to his New York Times bestseller Wilderness Warrior, acclaimed historian Douglas Brinkley offers a riveting, expansive look at the past and present battle to preserve Alaska’s wilderness. Brinkley explores the colorful diversity of Alaska’s wildlife, arrays the forces that have wreaked havoc on its primeval arctic refuge—from Klondike Gold Rush prospectors to environmental disasters like the Exxon-Valdez oil spill—and documents environmental heroes from Theodore Roosevelt to Dwight Eisenhower and beyond. Not merely a record of Alaska’s past, Quiet World is a compelling call-to-arms for sustainability, conservationism, and conscientious environmental stewardship—a warning that the land once called Seward’s Folly may go down in history as America’s Greatest Mistake.


Quiet World: Saving Alaska's Wilderness Kingdom, 1910-1960

by Douglas Brinkley

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Quiet World: Saving Alaska's Wilderness Kingdom, 1910-1960, Douglas Brinkley