Rules of Murder

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Julianna Deering

Narrated By: Simon Vance

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Date: August 2013

Duration: 8 hours 32 minutes

Summary:

High wit and romance make this a charming new cozy mystery series for readers of Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs Drew Farthering loves a good mystery, although he generally expects to find it in the pages of a novel, not on the grounds of his country estate. When a weekend party at Farthering Place is ruined by murder and the police seem flummoxed, Drew decides to look into the crime himself. With the help of his best friend, Nick Dennison, an avid mystery reader, and Madeline Parker, a beautiful and whip-smart American d├ębutante staying as a guest, the three try to solve the mystery as a lark, using the methods from their favorite novels. Soon, financial irregularities at Drew's stepfather's company come to light and it's clear that all who remain at Farthering Place could be in danger. Trying hard to remain one step ahead of the killer - and trying harder to impress Madeline - Drew must decide how far to take this game.

Genres:

  • Rosemarie Hoffmann

    While one expects the story to be implausible, the infrequent witty dialogue and infrequent dabs of humour did not override an impossible romance and twisted plot. The narrator made it entertaining but still not worth the money.

  • Jessica Gambling

    The romance starts way too early and is so boring. There is so little wit or conflict there that I thought it was setting up some kind of a twist. It wasn't. Everything else is pretty fun, though.