Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Liesl Shurtliff

Narrated By: Maxwell Glick

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: January 2014

Duration: 7 hours 54 minutes

Summary:

This funny fractured fairytale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.

Perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted or A Tale Dark and Grimm.

Genres:

  • JEANNIE T

    I originally started reading this book with my daughter but I was hooked. I downloaded it so I could listen to it while I worked! Loved it. Can’t wait to read Red!