Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sarah Edmondson

Narrated By: Sarah Edmondson

Publisher: Hachette Book Group USA

Date: September 2019

Duration: 7 hours 43 minutes

Summary:

The shocking and subversive memoir of a 12-year-NXIVM-member-turned-whistleblower, and her inspiring true story of abuse, escape, and redemption.

'Master, would you brand me? It would be an honor.' Scarred follows actress Sarah Edmondson's account of her recruitment into the NXIVM cult, founded by Keith Raniere. It narrates in detail the 12 years she spent within the organization, during which she enrolled over 2,000 members, chronicling her breaking point and her harrowing fight to get out, help others, and heal.

• Complete with personal photographs, this tell-all follows Sarah from the moment she takes her first NXIVM seminar, to the invitation she accepts from her best friend, Lauren Salzman, into DOS—a 'secret sisterhood' within the cult—to her journey toward becoming a key witness in the federal case against its founders.
• Readers will learn how cults like NXIVM get started, why people get involved (and stay), and the importance of whistleblowers who bring light to illegal and unethical practices.
• Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS series Salvation and more than 12 films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is featured in the CBC podcast Uncover: Escaping NXIVM and The Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM.

Scarred isn't just about NXIVM. It is also a story about abuses of power, the role female friendships play in cults, and how sometimes the search to be 'better' can override everything else.

• A thrilling read for fans of true crime and cults, as well as listeners of podcasts like My Favorite Murder and Up and Vanished.
• Great for fans of Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini, Escape by Carolyn Jessop, Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill, and Bad Blood by John Carreyrou.
• Evokes questions about friendship, ethics, good and evil, making it a perfect selection for book clubs.

Audio edition read by the author.

Genres:

  • Silke K.

    Superb. a fascinating and clear insight into how cults override a person's natural intuition. Very gripping.

  • Elizabeth M.

    Dear Word! Vanguard's ex, said it best, DOS was a way to keep anyone else from defecting. bIt was the ramping up of collateral. After twelve years this happens, I can understand it being hard to leave. It was not really made clear what makes her stay. She was not in the community and had her husband. After "Going Clear" came out, that should have clued them in. It was so similar to Sceintology and est. just a RIP off. but I remember seeing those commercials with Eddie Albert for computer byline(?) funny, not so much.

Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life

by Sarah Edmondson

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life, Sarah Edmondson
Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life, Sarah Edmondson
This title is due for release on September 17, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life, Sarah Edmondson
This title is due for release on September 17, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life, Sarah Edmondson
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Scarred: The True Story of How I Escaped NXIVM, the Cult that Bound My Life, Sarah Edmondson

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.