Scenes of Clerical Life

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: George Eliot

Narrated By: Bruce Pirie

Publisher: LibriVox

Date: September 2016

Duration: 15 hours 55 minutes


Scenes of Clerical Life, which appeared in book form in 1858 (after serial publication in the previous year), was the first published fiction by George Eliot, the pen name for Mary Anne Evans. It consists of three novellas based on the lives of country clergymen and their communities. These characters interest Eliot not for their theology - she had abandoned conventional Christian belief - but for their humanity. In these stories, we find the earliest signs of the narrative voice, the humanism, and the realism that would make George Eliot one of the greatest novelists of the 1800s. (Introduction by Bruce Pirie)


Scenes of Clerical Life

by George Eliot

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Scenes of Clerical Life, George Eliot