The Scottish Boy

Written by:
Alex De Campi
Narrated by:
Richard Pearce

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
47
Narrator
23
Release Date
March 2022
Duration
15 hours 50 minutes
Summary
1333. Edward III is at war with Scotland. Nineteen-year-old Sir Harry de Lyon yearns to prove himself and jumps at the chance when a powerful English baron, William Montagu, invites him on a secret mission with a dozen elite knights.

They ride north, to a crumbling Scottish keep, capturing a feral, half-starved boy within and putting the other inhabitants to the sword.

But nobody knows why the flower of English knighthood snuck over the border to capture a savage, dirty teenage boy. Montagu gives the boy to Harry as his squire, with only two rules: don't let him escape, and convert him to the English cause.

At first, it's hopeless. The Scottish boy is surly and violent and eats anything that isn't nailed down. Then Harry begins to notice things: that, as well as Gaelic, the boy speaks flawless French, with an accent much different from Harry's Norman one. That he can read Latin too. And when Harry finally convinces the boy – Iain mac Maíl Coluim – to cut his filthy curtain of hair, the face revealed is the most beautiful thing Harry has ever seen.

With Iain as his squire, Harry wins tournament after tournament and becomes a favourite of the King. But underneath the pageantry smoulder twin secrets: Harry and Iain's growing passion for each other, and Iain's mysterious heritage. As England hurtles towards war once again, these secrets will destroy everything Harry holds dear.

A sexy, slow-burn, enemies to lovers historical romance, Alex De Campi delivers a steamy but tender love story. 'Brokeback Mountain' meets '50 Shades of Grey' set again the vivid backdrop of Medieval Britain. Perfect for fans of Madeleine Miller's 'Song of Achilles', the novels of C. S. Pascat, and K.J. Charles.

This novel contains explicit sexual content and adult themes.
-
Alex de Campi is a thriller writer with an extensive backlist of critically-acclaimed prose and graphic novels including Eisner-nominated heist noir 'Bad Girls' (Simon & Schuster). Her most recent books were pulp horror graphic novel 'Dracula, Motherf**ker' (Image Comics), sci-fi thriller 'Madi: Once Upon A Time in the Future' co-written with Duncan Jones (Z2 Comics), and 'True War Stories', an anthology of soldiers’ deployment tales. She is on most social media as @alexdecampi.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I loved this book. I wasn’t expecting quite so raunchy, and won’t comment on historical accuracy, but the story was really engaging, the characters very alive, and the narrator was very talented.

Profile Avatar
Constanze P.

This was a sheer collercoaster of emotions embedded in a well researched historical background. I loved all of this book.

Profile Avatar
Terry H.

Too juvenile for me

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Trashy. Shallow.

Profile Avatar
Sabra G.

No thanks - not my cup of tea.

Profile Avatar
Jordan M.

Gut wrenching rollercoaster. Flaming hot passion. Ugh! Loved it.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

best novel i have read in a long time. a real love story between two men who suffer bc they keep trying to love each but too keep doing what is right. the sex scenes are explicit but move the story and develop the characters so appropriate for mature audiences. similar to Red Rising series by Pierce Brown.

Profile Avatar
Dorte Lassen

The story was outstanding. I like the setting of medieval times, where intrigue, favoritism, and conspiracy was just daily life. And in all this cruelty flourishes love. But I also agree with the others, that the sex scenes have been quite descriptive and sometimes long.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Story was great but could do without the extremely long overly descriptive young teenage boy on boy sex episode. Not realistic that young underage first experience with sex would be this explicit and the length of them took away from the story.

Profile Avatar
elle carter

Loved it..all the trills, all the surprises!

Profile Avatar
RMHjr

It was a fun read to have this gay romance set in medieval times with all the accompanying splendor, royal pomp, and cruel political and military machinations. Wasn’t sure such a forbidden relationship could actually have happened back then in such a homophonic age, but it wasn’t so preposterous that one couldn’t believe it.

Profile Avatar
Kai Q.

I like this a lot I was surprised I enjoyed it to the end. Sometimes the narrator was hard to understand but did very well

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

It was good writing a bit too much sex but actually a love story that survived prejudices, war, separation and death...Great Narrator!

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$17.99
View Cart