Scrapper

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Matt Bell

Narrated By: David Chandler

Publisher: Recorded Books

Date: September 2015

Duration: 8 hours 40 minutes

Summary:

For fans of The Dog Starsand Station Eleven, Scrapperuses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit serves as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace. In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the south. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred-thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls 'the zone,' where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again. In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woodswas a commercial and critical success. Author is very connected in the publishing world and has friends and fans across the country, including many booksellers, reviewers and other industry buzz-builders. After the mythological explorations of his first novel, Scrapperis set in a world closer to our own, expanding his appeal to new readers. Praise for In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods An ABA IndieNext Selection Flavorwire Staff Pick/Top 10 Debut of the Year The Nervous Breakdown Book Club Selection 'A gripping, grisly tale of a husband's descent into and ultimate emergence from some kind of personal hell.'--The New York Times 'Bell's novel isn't just a joy to read, it's also one of the smartest meditations on the subjects of love, family and marriage in recent years.'-- NPR 'Somber, incantatory sentences to hold you within [Bell's] dreamlike creation.... This unique book leaves you with the haunting lesson that even if you renounce and cast away your loved ones, you can never disown the memory of your deeds.'-- The Wall Street Journal 'Here's a story that stirs the Brothers Grimm and Salvador Dali with its claws...As gorgeous as it is devastating.'--The Washington Post 'An extraordinary achievement, telling a most ancient story in a way that feels uncannily new.'-- The Boston Globe Matt Bell is the author of the novel In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods, a finalist for the Young Lions Fiction Award, a Michigan Notable Book, and an Indies Choice Adult Debut Book of the Year Honor Recipient, as well as the winner of the Paula Anderson Book Award. He is also the author of two previous books, How They Were Found and Cataclysm Baby, and his stories have appeared in Best American Mystery Stories, Best American Fantasy, Conjunctions, Gulf Coast, The American Reader, and many other publications. He currently teaches creative writing at Arizona State University.

Genres:

Scrapper

by Matt Bell

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Scrapper, Matt Bell
Scrapper, Matt Bell
This title is due for release on September 15, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Scrapper, Matt Bell
This title is due for release on September 15, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Scrapper, Matt Bell
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Scrapper, Matt Bell

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.