The Seventh Most Important Thing

Written by:
Shelley Pearsall
Narrated by:
Nick Podehl

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
14
Narrator
3
Release Date
September 2015
Duration
5 hours 37 minutes
Summary
This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.

Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the judge—he is ready to send Arthur to juvie forever. Amazingly, it’s the Junk Man himself who offers an alternative: 120 hours of community service…working for him.

Arthur is given a rickety shopping cart and a list of the Seven Most Important Things: glass bottles, foil, cardboard, pieces of wood, lightbulbs, coffee cans, and mirrors. He can’t believe it—is he really supposed to rummage through people’s trash? But it isn’t long before Arthur realizes there’s more to the Junk Man than meets the eye, and the “trash” he’s collecting is being transformed into something more precious than anyone could imagine.…

Inspired by the work of folk artist James Hampton, Shelley Pearsall has crafted an affecting and redemptive novel about discovering what shines within us all, even when life seems full of darkness.

“A moving exploration of how there is often so much more than meets the eye.” —Booklist, starred review

“There are so many things to love about this book. Remarkable.” —The Christian Science Monitor
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Great story and a great narrator. This story helped us get through a 5 hour drive. kept both the adults and kids interested. the narrator does a really good job with doing different voices for each character. each character came to life.

Profile Avatar
Kailee D.

Great use of free time

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Really great story. Well written and well narrated. Loved to discover that the author took an actual art piece and wove a story around it. Fascinating. Great for kids and adults.

The Seventh Most Important Thing
This title is due for release on September 8, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Seventh Most Important Thing
This title is due for release on September 8, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Seventh Most Important Thing
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Seventh Most Important Thing

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$35.99
View Cart