Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (75)

Narrator Rating (15)

A Simple Favor: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Darcey Bell

Narrated By: Xe Sands, Andi Arndt, Matthew Waterson

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Date: March 2017

Duration: 8 hours 56 minutes

Summary:

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig
She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.
But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.
Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.
A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Genres:

  • Kimberly S.

    STOP!! Do not waste your time or money. This book is not worth it, I promise. The storyline had such potential, but the whole "Mommy Blog" BS was super annoying. I truly do not know what the author was thinking. And the ending was horrible. The narrators did a good job, I think that's the only reason I was able to finish this book. The only good thing about this book is now I don't have to see the movie; which I'm sure will be worse than the book. Movie adaptations often are.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    I hate the ending... but the story kept me intrigued. the narrators did a marvelous job of making me believe in the characters. It must be said that I cannot stand stephanie. My eyes have never rolled so hard and so often while listening to an audiobook. An "okay" story but a really good performance.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Jody K.

    I wish I could give this a 3.5. I think that part of the point of this book is that you don't really like any of the characters. However, in parts, it really does make this a difficult listen. The story is a little predictable, and though it boasts a plot twist, the twist is fairly foreseeable. Not the worst book I've ever read or listened to, but it would not come highly recommended by me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Ashleigh S.

    An interesting story, a few twists and turns. I didn't love the narrators, they distracted me from the story a bit.