The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires

Written by:
Grady Hendrix
Narrated by:
Bahni Turpin

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
76
Narrator
29
Release Date
April 2020
Duration
13 hours 50 minutes
Summary
Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a real monster.

Patricia Campbell’s life has never felt smaller. Her ambitious husband is too busy to give her a goodbye kiss in the morning, her kids have their own lives, her senile mother-in-law needs constant care, and she’s always a step behind on thank-you notes and her endless list of chores. The one thing she has to look forward to is her book club, a close-knit group of Charleston women united by their love of true crime and paperback fiction. At these meetings they’re as likely to talk about the Manson family as they are marriage, motherhood, and neighborhood gossip.

This predictable pattern is upended when Patricia meets James Harris, a handsome stranger who moves into the neighborhood to take care of his elderly aunt and ends up joining the book club. James is sensitive and well-read, and he makes Patricia feel things she hasn’t felt in twenty years. But there’s something off about him. He doesn’t have a bank account, he doesn’t like going out during the day, and Patricia’s mother-in-law insists that she knew him when she was a girl—an impossibility.

When local children go missing, Patricia and the book club members start to suspect James is more of a Bundy than a Beatnik—but no one outside of the book club believes them. Have they read too many true crime books, or have they invited a real monster into their homes?
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Doreen B.

I wish I could give the narrator 10 stars, she helped bring this well written book to life. I had thought through out the novel how perfect it was. Dare I say Grady Hendrix makes Stephen King look feeble? I would feel true concern for these southern women with their gentile ways. The characters were very well developed. I had a particular liking to Mrs. Green, what a strong and intelligent women. I am very glad I chose this novel, I have not a single problem with any part of the story or any actions of the characters. It kept me wanting to hurry toward the end to see how it all shakes out.... yet, I didn’t want it to end. That to me is a true measure of a good novel.

Profile Avatar
Kristi W.

First, I must brag on the narrator!! She is without a doubt the BEST one I’ve ever listened to…she goes in between the different characters voices with ease and perfection. Such a gem!! Now for the story itself…it was also a gem!! I loved this book! It felt comfortable and easy to immerse myself and my imagination in…there were sweet moments, angry, stressful, shocking and a roller coaster of emotions. Buckle up and just enjoy this story from beginning to end.

Profile Avatar
Dion S.

This was a fun book that turned pretty dark and I loved it!

Profile Avatar
Brad C.

This book really excels at the characterization and it lovingly takes its time exploring these women and their friendships. They all have real strengths and shortcomings. The vampire is of course interesting too but more as a foil for them than anything else. I'm a big fan of horror and I was on the edge of my seat during a few chapters. I'm also a southern transplant to a big city and this book made me miss my mom. But in a good way.

Profile Avatar
Jeff H.

I enjoyed this story immensely. The title does not hint at the quality and depth of the book! Great imagination and skilled storytelling displayed by the author. The narrator was superb as well.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I loved this book! Wish they'd make it into a movie!

Profile Avatar
Lauralifts

I finished this in 2 days. The narrator really pulled this well-thought-out book together. I thoroughly enjoyed this classic monster tale in a modern time setting!

Profile Avatar
Sonder S.

I think it's just not my kind of read. I found the story dreadfully boring. the narrator needs more life as well. wish I could get my credit back lol

Profile Avatar
Dena Knight

I seem to love books set in the South. The narrator did a fabulous job on this one.

Profile Avatar
carmen steen

This was my second book by this author, following "My Best Friend's Exorcism". In my opinion, he nailed it again - the era (early 90s), the Southern mentality at the time, the misogyny and racism and sexism, the gasp out loud horror, the teenage angst and bored housewife. All skillfully narrated, too. Please remember, it's a work of fiction depicting (very accurately) a time, mindset, culture that is to some offensive. But it's like reading a book about WWII Germany and claiming to be offended because there's Nazis and war and murder. Yep. The book deals with some sensitive topics for sure. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will be delighted.

Profile Avatar
Ghoulian13

Wtf is this book? It’s sexist, racist, and pedophilic. The book starts off funny and then takes a dark turn that you aren’t expecting. Thankfully, the narrator was very enjoyable to listen to while she performed the book.

Profile Avatar
Tim M.

My first impression of this book was that it was a retelling of ‘Salem's Lot’ with a dash of ‘The Strain’, as collected from serialized installments in ‘Southern Living’ magazine. All of which are actually given a shout-out in this book! At its core, it’s basically a condemnation of Southern upper middle class white people, the men especially. The protagonists of this book are small minded, arrogant, racist, and outrageously self-entitled. Plus viciously protective of their little suburban kingdoms, in the most selfish, passive aggressive and mean spirited ways possible. Welcome to the South! To me, the real hero of the book was Mr. “Boo Daddy” vampire, James Harris. It was somehow gratifying to watch him turn their greed and vanity back on themselves to get away with murder right in their immaculately landscaped back yards. As the book went on, I started to hope he’d clean out the lot of them. Slurp! Slurp! I’m giving the book itself two stars, it’s kind of a jumbled mess, with far too much exposition and backstory leading up the meat of the novel. Which there’s very little of! I found myself fast forwarding through big chunks of it, just to get a section with some forward progress in the narrative. For the audiobook narrator, Bahni Turpin, I give five stars. She does an excellent job, and I love it when a narrator can change the pitch and timbre of their voice to evoke each different character, which she does well.

Profile Avatar
Pilarica

The story lime was not the best

Profile Avatar
John S.

Different look into vampire myth and women in the south. I liked it and characters were well developed. Not much to make males feel good about our place in the family.

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires
This title is due for release on April 7, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires
This title is due for release on April 7, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$22.95
View Cart