Starters

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Lissa Price

Narrated By: Rebecca Lowman

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: March 2012

Duration: 10 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

An international bestseller published in over thirty countries, this riveting sci-fi dystopic thriller is “a bona fide page-turner.” --MTV.com

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie.

Callie’s only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie’s head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter.

Callie soon discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations’ plans are more evil than she could ever have imagined. . . .

Praise for STARTERS:

“A smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author DEAN KOONTZ
 
“Compelling, pulse-pounding, exciting . . . Don’t miss it!” —New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr
 
“Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best.” —Los Angeles Times
 
“Intriguing, thought-provoking and addictive.” —BookReporter.com
 
“Readers will stay hooked. . . . Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Fast-paced dystopian fiction. . . . The inevitable sequel can’t appear soon enough.” —Booklist
 
'Intriguing, fast-paced . . . Fans of dystopian novels will be completely engaged and clamoring for the sequel.' —School Library Journal

“Addictive and alluring.” —Examiner.com
 
“Chilling and riveting.” —Shelf-Awareness.com
 
“A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast-paced, romantic, and thought-provoking.” —Justine

Genres:

  • Anonymous

    I don't want to be too hard on this book. It seems to me that teen fiction consists of good plot ideas but poor writing. When the characters in this book seem to be, well, idiots, I guess the author either thinks we are teens and won't notice, or that we will expect the teens in the book to be stupid. Interesting premise, poor execution. I would skip it.