Straying: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Molly McCloskey

Narrated By: katie beudert

Date: February 2018

Duration: 6 hours 5 minutes

Summary:

“A memoir-vivid portrait of a vertiginous affair” (Vogue) for readers of Jenny Offill, Garth Greenwell, and Anne Enright, an unforgettable novel about a young American expat who settles in Ireland, marries, and lives through the consequences of an affair—by “an extravagantly gifted writer” (Rachel Cusk).

In this “humane and lucid novel” (The New York Times), Alice, a young American, arrives in the West of Ireland with no plans and no strong attachments. She meets and falls in love with an Irishman, quickly marries him, and settles down in a place whose customs are unfamiliar. And then, in the course of a single hot summer, she embarks on an affair that breaks her marriage and sets her life on a new course.

Years later, in the immediate aftermath of her beloved mother’s death, Alice, having worked in war zones around the world, finds herself back in Ireland, contemplating the forces that led her to put down roots and then tear them up again. What drew her to her husband, and what pulled her away? Was her husband strangely complicit in the affair? Was she always under surveillance by friends and neighbors who knew more than they let on?

“Short, intense, and emotionally precise” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis), Straying is at once a “ferociously well written” (The Guardian) account of passion and ambivalence and an exquisite rumination on the things that matter most.

Genres:

Straying: A Novel

by Molly McCloskey

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Straying: A Novel, Molly McCloskey
Straying: A Novel, Molly McCloskey
This title is due for release on February 20, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Straying: A Novel, Molly McCloskey
This title is due for release on February 20, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Straying: A Novel, Molly McCloskey
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Straying: A Novel, Molly McCloskey

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.