Summer In A Cornish Cove

Written by:
Kate Ryder
Narrated by:
Rachael Beresford

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
1
Narrator
1
Release Date
November 2019
Duration
12 hours 32 minutes
Summary
Set against a gloriously rugged Cornish backdrop, two lives are about to be changed forever... The audiobook to fall in love with this summer - perfect for fans of Fern Britton, Liz Fenwick and Veronica Henry.
Oliver Foxley is an acclaimed movie star and global heartthrob. But under the glare of the spotlight his 'perfect' life - and marriage - is slowly starting to crumble. Cara Penhaligon is a struggling young Cornish artist, and widowed mother of two children. Life has been unbearably harsh to Cara, but meeting Oliver might just give her a second chance at the happiness she deserves. As each begins to heal the other, the pieces of Oliver's frustrating jigsaw puzzle effortlessly fall into place. But as the Cornish summer draws to a close, Oliver faces the toughest of choices, and no one emerges quite as they were at the start.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I loved this audio book! It's full of wonderful characters, some good and some bad. The story draws you in from the beginning and never lets you down with the surprises that keep cropping up. I kept looking for excuses to leave real life and immerse myself in Kate Ryder's created world. The descriptions of Cornwall are lovely and makes you want to be in the beautiful landscape, meeting these characters. The story is intriguing, with many obstacles for the characters to overcome and a surprise at the end - I'm so pleased there's a sequel! It's a storyline that stays with you long after you've finished listening. There were just a couple of issues I had with the narration. Although the narrator has a lovely voice, I think she misunderstood a couple of the characters. For instance, I don't believe Oliver's character is as pompous as he sounds. The author describes him as having a deep, distinctive voice, but he sounds stuffy. And also, Cara's mum, Carol, is from London (born and bred) but the narrator has given her a pronounced Cornish accent - was this a mistake, realised too late? I don't think that even if she'd lived in the county for over 30 years Carol would have lost her London accent and be speaking in the Cornish dialect!

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$16.91
View Cart