The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Michael Krondl

Narrated By: Todd McLaren

Publisher: Tantor Media

Date: November 2007

Duration: 10 hours 30 minutes

Summary:

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.

Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise-and fall-of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam.

Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

Genres:

Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

by Michael Krondl

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, Michael Krondl
Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, Michael Krondl
This title is due for release on November 13, 2007.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, Michael Krondl
This title is due for release on November 13, 2007
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, Michael Krondl
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, Michael Krondl

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.