Written By: V. E. Schwab

Narrated By: Julia Whelan

Date: October 2020

Duration: 17 hours 10 minutes

Summary:

'[Narrator Julia] Whelan's performance is unforgettable in this darkly romantic fantasy about one young woman cursed always to be forgotten...Her depiction of the darkness is smooth with a low cadence, capturing listeners' attention and their heart strings.' -- Booklist

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

'This epic story, spanning three centuries and two continents, is expertly narrated by Julia Whelan...This is a transporting listen, and these characters will stick with you for a long time.' -- Bookpage, starred review

'Julia Whelan's steady rhythm perfectly conveys the ups and downs of Addie LaRue's life, which take place over 300 years...Her voice fits each moment, making Addie's journey both sobering at times and unforgettable.' -- AudioFile Magazine

Genres:

  • Bruce R C.

    Magnificent. Many books are referred to as “page turners,” suggesting that you can’t wait to see what next happens. Addie LaRue allows you to celebrate the page you’re reading, loving and living every moment and allowing you to fully experience the journey. This is one of my all time favorites. My biggest problem is not knowing what next to read that could possibly withstand comparison to this phenomenal book.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  • Natalie T.

    New favorite! Beautifully written and the narrator brought the soul of this book to life! Well done!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Erica R.

    Great premise, plot goes at an easy pace, a bit light in the writing, which is a perfect listen for housework or a commute. BUT I almost gave up on it when two huge historical errors pierced the integrity of story. AUTHOR, PLEASE NOTE: Sacre Coeur was not built til late 19th century, and Vermeer painted The Girl with the Pearl Earring (not Rembrandt).

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Ruthy B.

    A great story, well written. Loved the moments in different time periods.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Tracy C.

    Interesting premise, the writing is lovely and i couldn’t wait to hear more.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Nancy K.

    Enchanting story! I really enjoyed everything about this book and I will miss listening to it. It is full of adventures, life's lessons & take you on a wonderful journey. The narrator really brought this book to life and did an excellent job reading for both male and female.

  • Tabatha chase

    Such a good story. Addie is an amazing and strong character...she is so easy to love. The relationship with Luke really keeps you on your toes and I love that Addie always is looking to keep one card in her back pocket. On the other side the love she finds in Henry is so inspiring. "To be remembered" is something everyone wants and deeply needs.

  • Alyssa Hicks

    One of the best books I’ve ever read!!!

  • Anonymous

    unfortunately, I didn't like this book. The book seemed to drag and storyline was not as interesting as I thought it would be.

  • Alexia B.

    Book and narrator were amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone.

  • Suzanne C.

    I loved this almost as much as my favorite book Life after Life!!

  • Mariah N.

    I loved this book and the twists and turns . The ending was not what I expected.

  • Leanna J.

    Great story and narration.

  • Anonymous

    Too long lost interest

  • Deirdre K.

    This book is long and horny. The narrator has such a husky, seductive voice and does a great job but a lot of the book drones on and on and could be about 7 hours shorter. It’s a nice book if you’re looking for a long, meandering story, good for having on in the background. You’ll hear the word “heat” a LOT. Maybe too much.

  • Kacey D.

    Love this book and story!

  • Eric C.

    less predictable then the typical sell your soul story. a very good read/listen.

  • Anonymous

    I enjoyed being immersed in Addie’s story and universe, as well as Henry’s. I would’ve liked to know more about Luc: his origin, his drive, his sphere of influence. The ending was okay. I understood why it was the way it was, but I felt it was a bit light.

  • Susan Rollenhagen

    So well written and entertaining. Definitely recommend!

  • Kimberly M.

    I thought the book sounded really interesting from the description. But like other people have mentioned it could’ve been a lot shorter the middle just drag drag drag. The narration was good but the story was kind of boring and I didn’t wanna listen to it. But since I had to pay for it I listen to it anyways. The ending was too rushed and seem like they could’ve added some more to it. I hate when they do that Hurry up let’s get this finished endings.

  • Carol M.

    Interesting take on an ages old philosophical question. I found it intriguing to explore the ramifications of her choice and how it played out over the centuries.

  • Darlene D.

    Love love love love this book to infinity

  • Anonymous

    “I want you to see me too” This is definitely a slow book but it’s not a bad thing. This is the type of book that people will write essays about in twenty years.

  • Deborah H.

    I really enjoyed this — haven’t read anything else quite like it! Could have done without the sexual descriptions, bit that’s the advantage of an audio book —you can skip right through it. The narrator was awesome —the perfect low, sexy voice , especially for Luc! Highly recommend.

  • Anonymous

    Lovely read. Fabulous narrator.

  • Kristen L.

    This is a full rich story that will have you asking yourself questions about life and love and God and the devil and freedom and loneliness... all while telling a compelling and whimsical story.. I think I would have given it 5 stars if I agreed with everything that the author concluded about said questions, but that's just me. Any time an author puts God and the devil in a story she risks alienating part of her audience at least a little. All things considered, she didn't alienate me too badly. The narrator was fantastic. She speaks in a nice voice and gets all of the character voices perfectly and consistently making it a very nice listen.

  • Anonymous

    The concept and opening chapters of this book are interesting. However, this book needed an assertive editor. It was far too long and could have cut large amounts of description and inner monologue. In addition to this, there are numerous interesting points that are hinted at, but never elaborated on (WWII spy, the French Revolution). More of those and fewer New York city bars please!

  • Bon Bon

    Love, love, love. Very creative story.

  • Courtney L.

    Devastating

  • Anonymous

    Got better after towards the middle

  • Naomi Gontko

    AMAZING story! I was captivated from start to end!

  • Nancy G.

    I think this book could have been accomplished with half of content cut out. Way too long.

  • Rj S.

    Loved this book. I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s a movie in a year or two.

  • Bianca1976

    This was such a departure from a genre that I would have picked up but I'm so glad I did. In the end it was a love story and I'm happy about that. I listened to this on the recommendation of a friend and it was a really great book. It was sad and beautiful and just a really well put together story. I really enjoyed it and the narrator.

  • Jill P.

    Picked up my interest right away. There were several times I thought the book was near the end and there would be another turn!

  • Rachel U.

    I love this book! It never got boring and always kept me entertained. The way the setting changed from timeline to timeline was very intriguing and it opened a new perspective to look at life in. Amazing story (: I would definitely recommend!

  • Debbi S.

    Really lived this book!

  • Anonymous

    One of the best books I’ve read!

  • Cynthia D.

    If you have read The Night Circus and enjoyed that .. this is a book for you.. Making deals with a dark God has its consequences... Very well written.. My I only wished was that the narration was done by a female and male narrator.

Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

by V. E. Schwab

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
This title is due for release on October 6, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
This title is due for release on October 6, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.