There Is Simply Too Much to Think About: Collected Nonfiction

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Saul Bellow

Narrated By: Malcolm Hillgartner

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Date: March 2015

Duration: 20 hours 33 minutes


A sweeping collection and a tribute to one of the most influential, daring, and visionary minds of the twentieth century

The year 2015 marks several literary milestones: the centennial of Saul Bellow’s birth, the tenth anniversary of his death, and the publication of Zachary Leader’s much anticipated biography. Bellow—a Nobel laureate, Pulitzer Prize winner, and the only novelist to receive three National Book Awards—has long been regarded as one of America’s most cherished authors. Here, Benjamin Taylor, editor of the acclaimed Saul Bellow: Letters, presents lesser-known aspects of the iconic writer.

Arranged chronologically, this literary time capsule displays the full extent of Bellow’s nonfiction, including criticism, interviews, speeches, and other reflections, tracing his career from his initial success as a novelist until the end of his life. Bringing together six classic pieces with an abundance of previously uncollected material, There Is Simply Too Much to Think About is a powerful reminder not only of Bellow’s genius but also of his enduring place in the Western canon, and it is sure to be widely reviewed and talked about for years to come.

“Nobel Prize winner Bellow was a prolific writer of nonfiction: essays, reviews, interviews, talks, and memoirs. Organized by decade, the fifty-seven pieces in this volume, edited by Taylor, trace both Bellow’s writing career and his outspoken opinions on politics, literature, and intellectual life in America during the second half of the twentieth century.…This comprehensive collection illuminates Bellow’s sense of his own identity and his changing world.”—Kirkus Reviews


There Is Simply Too Much to Think About: Collected Nonfiction

by Saul Bellow

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

There Is Simply Too Much to Think About: Collected Nonfiction, Saul Bellow