These Shallow Graves

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Jennifer Donnelly

Narrated By: Kim Bubbs

Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)

Date: October 2015

Duration: 13 hours 32 minutes

Summary:

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
    Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
    Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
    The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
    The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

Praise for These Shallow Graves:

'These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!'-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy

'An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York.'-Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven

'A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets.'-Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That's In Me

'Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York. Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!'-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalist Belle Epoque

[STAR] 'Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another.'-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] 'Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant.'-Publishers Weekly, Starred

[STAR] 'A riveting historical mystery-thriller...[that] succeeds as a wonderfully paced thriller, a heart-pounding romance and an unflinching look at the hard choices one young woman must make when society disparages her dreams.'-Shelf Awareness, Starred

'A beautifully written mystery.'-School Library Journal

'[A] fast-paced thriller...the story races to its surprising conclusion.'-Kirkus Reviews

'A heroine you can't help cheering on.'-The Horn Book

Genres:

These Shallow Graves

by Jennifer Donnelly

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
This title is due for release on October 27, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
This title is due for release on October 27, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.