Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (54)

Narrator Rating (3)

They Both Die at the End

Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Date: September 2017

Duration: 8 hours 31 minutes

Summary:

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 4 starred reviews!

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure-to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."

Genres:

  • Stephanie P

    I absolutely loved this book. The premise was interesting, which is why I chose to read this book to begin with. Getting a call at midnight letting you know you're going to die that day is a very intriguing plot point. The teen angst was really there, and the character development was done so well that I felt as if I knew these boys personally. So much so, I couldn't stop crying once the book was over. It's a great story with great characters. Definitely worth the read.

  • Lori M

    This book just didn't do it for me.The premise was interesting. A call shortly after midnight telling you your number is up and that you will die that day. It tells the story of two teenage boys that get the call and what happens thereafter. Hint. When you know you are going to die that day, what do you have to lose? Also, not mentioned, is that the two teenagers realize they are gay. Really? Did it take staring death in the face to figure that out? The narration kept me listening. If I had been reading it, I probably would not have finished. I love Bahni Turpin's voice.It's so rich and beautiful. The male narrators did a fine job of making me feel that teenage angst. Overall, though, can't give the story itself more than a 3 stars