Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (57)

Narrator Rating (13)

The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Kelly Rimmer

Narrated By: Nancy Peterson, Ann Marie Gideon

Publisher: Harlequin Audio

Date: March 2019

Duration: 13 hours 43 minutes

Summary:

“Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read…If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.”—Fresh Fiction“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.

Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

Genres:

  • Rusty Burson

    I love the way this book was written going back and forth between World War II Poland and current-day America. There is a great family story of finding how to love despite our many differences.

  • Elizabeth R.

    I read a lot of books about the Holocaust and this was another good one, although heartbreaking. The reciting of atrocities committed by the Nazis in this book was consistent with historical records. The narrator who voiced the daughter who traveled to Poland spoke very fast. I repeated checked my device to ensure I hadn't accidentally sped up the narration. The other narration was great.

  • Neal R.

    The story grabs you right from the start. The best audio book I've listened to thus far!

Things We Cannot Say: A Novel

by Kelly Rimmer

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Things We Cannot Say: A Novel, Kelly Rimmer
Things We Cannot Say: A Novel, Kelly Rimmer
This title is due for release on March 19, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Things We Cannot Say: A Novel, Kelly Rimmer
This title is due for release on March 19, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Things We Cannot Say: A Novel, Kelly Rimmer
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Things We Cannot Say: A Novel, Kelly Rimmer

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.