This Lovely City

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Louise Hare

Narrated By: Theo Solomon, Karise Yansen

Date: February 2020

Duration: 10 hours 46 minutes

Summary:

*As seen on the new BBC TWO TV book club, Between the Covers*

Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award




Indie Book of the Month for March, selected by the Booksellers Association




One of OBSERVER’S 10 best debut novelists of 2020 / WOMAN & HOME Best of 2020 / EVENING STANDARD Best books of 2020 / MAIL ON SUNDAY 2020 Highlights / I Best of 2020



* * * *


‘Full of life and love . . . it made my heart soar, and should be on every Londoner’s shelf’ Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars


‘The writing is wonderful; London’s energy runs right through it; the characters leap off the page. I was truly sad to leave them behind’ Adam Kay, Observer


‘Convincing and involving’ Sunday Times


‘Fans of Zadie Smith and Andrea Levy won’t want to miss Louise Hare’s enthralling debut novel’ Elle


* * *
The drinks are flowing.
The music is playing.
But the party can’t last.


With the Blitz over and London reeling from war, jazz musician Lawrie Matthews has answered England’s call for help. Fresh off the Empire Windrush, he’s taken a tiny room in south London lodgings, and has fallen in love with the girl next door. Lawrie has poured his heart into his new home – and it’s alive with possibility. Until, one morning, he makes a terrible discovery.


As the local community rallies, fingers of blame are pointed at those who had recently been welcomed with open arms. And, before long, the newest arrivals become the prime suspects in a tragedy which threatens to tear the city apart.


Atmospheric, poignant and compelling, Louise Hare’s debut shows that new arrivals have always been the prime suspects. But, also, that there is always hope.
* * *



MORE PRAISE FOR THIS LOVELY CITY:



‘I loved, loved, loved it’ Cathy Rentzenbrink, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Last Act of Love


‘Full to the brim with such complete joys and heart-aching tragedies . . . you can feel the warmth and colour emanating from the pages’ Magic Radio Book Club

Genres:

  • Anonymous

    loved this story!

  • V Nerd

    This is a fabulous murder mystery set in post war Britain. 1948, the war is finally over and bombed out Britain is set to rebuild, but to that they need people in London after so many were lost in the war, so the government send an invitation to its colonies asking for workers, in exchange for their help, these lucky people will be helped with accommodation and be part of something amazing! Except, it doesn't quite work out like that. Jazz musician Lawrie Matthews travels from Jamaica to the UK along with hundreds of other people on the Empire Windrush, thinking that his life was going to start, there was going to be so many different things for him to do, jobs for him to choose, friends for him to make, he was a British citizen now, and people were going to love him. Unfortunately, when the ship arrives, it seems that London wasn't ready at all for the people that they had invited, and had done very little to accommodate them, on arrival they are escorted to an old bomb shelter and told this is where they will be staying until further accommodation was provided! After eventually being housed, Lawrie gets a job as a Postman, and falls in love with a girl called Evie, who is a neighbour. Lawrie loves his job, and in the evenings he plays in a Jazz band around SoHo, but what he doesn't love is the blatant racism towards him and his friends, considering they were there to help, Lawrie doesn't feel appreciated at all, and even though he was now a British citizen, it didn't matter, as the colour of his skin said otherwise. While doing his post round one morning, Lawrie makes an awful discovery, that sets the future plans that he has with Evie on very thin ice. This was at times a very hard hitting book mixed in with the mystery, to see all of these people being treated so badly just because of the colour of their skin makes me so angry, and even more so because of the Windrush situation that came to light in the news back in 2018 and is still going on now. Louise Hare has managed to create a very atmospheric story and I could almost hear the Jazz band, and smell the smoky bars as I listened to this audiobook Narrated By Theo Solomon and Karise Yansen who did a wonderful job recreating the character voices **Thank you to HQ Stories for giving me a free copy of this audiobook**

This Lovely City

by Louise Hare

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

This Lovely City, Louise Hare
This Lovely City, Louise Hare
This title is due for release on February 12, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
This Lovely City, Louise Hare
This title is due for release on February 12, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
This Lovely City, Louise Hare
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
This Lovely City, Louise Hare

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.