This Sceptred Isle: Collection 3: The 20th Century: The Classic BBC Radio History

Written by:
Christopher Lee
Narrated by:
Anna Massey , Robert Powell

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
September 2020
15 hours 15 minutes
All five volumes from the landmark BBC radio series This Sceptred Isle: The Twentieth Century

Christopher Lee's vivid, compelling history tells the story of Britain from the death of Queen Victoria to the dawning of a new millennium. This collection includes the original volumes 1-5:

1901-1919: The Victorian era comes to an end, Suffragettes demand 'Votes for Women', the Titanic sinks and the Great War casts a long shadow.

1919-1939: Ramsay MacDonald becomes the first Labour PM, millions of workers take industrial action during the General Strike, Wall Street crashes and Hitler rises to power.

1939-1959: The horrors of the Second World War and the onset of the Cold War, Indian independence, the founding of the NHS, the beginning of a new Elizabethan age and the Space Race.

1959-1979: War in Vietnam, Profumo causes a scandal, the Beatles generate worldwide hysteria, Britain joins Europe and Thatcherism is born.

1979-1999: The nation celebrates a fairytale royal wedding, Argentine troops invade the Falklands, disaster strikes at Chernobyl, the Berlin Wall falls - and as the year 2000 approaches, construction begins on London's Millennium Dome.

Narrated by Anna Massey, with additional readings by Robert Powell, this is the definitive radio account of one of the most exciting and fast-moving periods in the history of the United Kingdom.

NB: Due to the age of these recordings, sound quality may vary

Production credits
Written by Christopher Lee
Narrated by Anna Massey, with additional readings by Robert Powell
Produced by Pete Atkin

First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 30 August-31 December 1999
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart