Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (134)

Narrator Rating (33)

This Tender Land

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: William Kent Krueger

Narrated By: Scott Brick

Date: September 2019

Duration: 14 hours 21 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Timesbestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota-the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en'thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

Genres:

  • Kathryn K.

    I enjoyed this book and feel sad that its over. I especially like how the book wrapped up.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Anonymous

    Great insight into that period in history the tragic abuse of the indigenous children and a tale of enlightenment. Enjoyed this read

  • Anonymous

    Good read and very good to listen, nice voice.

  • Claire M.

    Loved the tales of the four vagabonds and their adventures in search of their dreams. Beautifully written, a well paced narrative that kept this reader engaged and in anticipation of the next chapter.

  • Shroas

    This was an enjoyable read. It had me crying at points. Yet I never knew what was waiting around the corner.

  • Anonymous

    Great story well written. I enjoyed the book

  • Anonymous

    After living a short time in Minneapolis I was able to recognize many of the areas mentioned and it brought back memories. It was a slow start for me but ended up coming full circle to genuine enjoyment.

  • Anonymous

    good story. a little predictable. Narrator could have been a little more in the dialect of the situation.

  • Linda K.

    I am astounded that this book Has been compared to where the crawdads sing. This book is very dark, very long, and with little redeeming qualities at the end. I almost quit halfway through, but Read on in hopes of a turn of mood, and a wonderful ending, neither of which came about.

  • Gina M.

    WKK’s Ordinary Grace was extraordinary. Unfortunately, This Tender Land was not. Filled with over used stereotypes and cliches, I found it simply shallow and uninteresting. The psycho head mistress, the orphanage pedophile, the con-artist faith healer, the lesbian couple, the prostitute, and on and on. And ... seriously ... if you ‘just believe’ you will be healed? You can do better WKK.

This Tender Land

by William Kent Krueger

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger
This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger
This title is due for release on September 3, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger
This title is due for release on September 3, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.