To the Power of Three

Abridged Audiobook

Written By: Laura Lippman

Narrated By: Linda Emond

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Date: June 2005

Duration: 6 hours 18 minutes

Summary:

“Powerful….A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was….Brilliant, insightful, moving.”
—Chicago Sun-TimesThere are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman’s brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this “writing powerhouse” (USA Today), who has “exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time” (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman’s novel is one that will not be easily forgotten—a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben

Genres:

  • Kristin

    The dramas and pettinenss of teenage/high school life are well described in this mystery. I found the characters engaging, and although not always "likable", definitely sympathetic. This was a great book.

  • Cheryl Sattler

    If you've ever gone to high school - this book will take you back to the worst day you ever had there - forget no prom date, much worse than that. Lippman writes compellingly and her characters, far beyond the typical murder mystery cast, are 3 dimensional and very real. By the time the book ends, I had laughed, gripped the steering wheel, and loved every minute of it. Lippman is the queen of the fatal twist.

  • J.D.

    This book was particularly difficult to listen through to the end. It was somewhat boring and predictable.