Wait for Me!: Memoirs

Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Media

Date: November 2010

Duration: 14 hours 0 minutes


Deborah Mitford, Duchess of Devonshire, is the youngest of the famously witty brood that includes the writers Jessica and Nancy, who wrote when Deborah was born, 'How disgusting of the poor darling to go and be a girl.' Deborah's effervescent memoir Wait for Me! chronicles her remarkable life, from an eccentric but happy childhood in the Oxfordshire countryside, to tea with Adolf Hitler and her controversially political sister Unity in 1937, to her marriage to the second son of the Duke of Devonshire. Her life would change utterly with his unexpected inheritance of the title and vast estates after the wartime death of his brother, who had married Kick Kennedy, the beloved sister of John F. Kennedy. Her friendship with that family would last through triumph and tragedy. With its intense warmth and charm, Wait for Me! is a unique portrait of an age and an unprecedented look at the rhythms of life inside one of the great aristocratic families of England. It is irresistible listening and will join the shelf of Mitford classics to delight audiences for years to come.


Wait for Me!: Memoirs

by Duchess Of Devonshire Deborah Mitford

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Wait for Me!: Memoirs, Duchess Of Devonshire Deborah Mitford